Raymond Community Forest

View from Pismire Bluff

The Raymond Community Forest is a 356 acre permanently conserved tract of land in Raymond, ME.  It offers long-term multiple benefits to the community and region.  These benefits include protection of the quality of Raymond’s waterways and wildlife.  Also, it has exceptional views to and from Pismire Mountain.  Recreational development includes a parking area on Conesca Road; hiking trails leading to the cliffs of Pismire Mountain and low-impact multi-use trails in the lower forest. Uses in the lower forest include walking, hiking, cross country skiing/snowshoeing and mountain biking.  It also offers continuation of traditional uses such as hunting. The property has had a long tradition of sustainable forest management. Forestry will continue providing necessary income to support the management of the land and trails into the future.Click here to download a map of the Raymond Community Forest and trails (pdf)

Raymond Community Forest

View From Pismire Bluff – Autumn

winter panoramic Raymond Community Forest by D. Dowler

Raymond Community Forest Trail Building

Constructing Spiller Loop

Raymond Community Forest

Technical Rock Work – Pismire Bluff Trail

Raymond Community Forest Educational Signs

Educational Signs Along Spiller Homestead Loop

Designated Uses
Hiking and Nature Observation
Snowshoeing and Back Country Skiing
Mountain Biking (on designated trails only)
Trapping (by permission only)

Use Guidelines
Remove All Waste and Trash
Daytime Use Only
Stay On Marked Trails
Keep Pets Under Control At All Times
Motorized Vehicles Are Prohibited
Target Shooting Is Prohibited
Wear Blaze Orange During Hunting Seasons


The 2007 Raymond Open Space Plan identified Pismire Mountain as a special place. The land conservation project was first proposed by the Raymond Conservation Commission and Loon Echo Land Trust in 2012. Results from the 2014 town-wide Raymond Community Survey indicated strong support for preserving open space, natural resources and lakes over the next 10 years. The property was acquired by Loon Echo in 2016.

Click on the box below to play video.


Over 200 local individuals and families have donated to the project. Hancock Land Company gifted approximately $109,000 in land value. The residents of Raymond voted $56,800. Grants were awarded by the Land for Maine’s Future Program (LMF), Portland Water District, Maine Outdoor Heritage Fund, Davis Conservation Foundation, Camp Agawam, The Open Space Institute and an anonymous foundation.

Click here to download a regional locator map of the property (pdf)


Supporting Project Partners Include:

   RCC Logo              CLWA Logo Resized PPA Logo   hancock land company logo


Raymond Waterways Association; Raymond Pond Association; Myron Hall Road Association; Crescent Woods Road Association; Forest Society of Maine; and others.

Raymond Community Forest Campaign Steering Committee Members:

John Rand, Chair; Ray Bersch; Sheila Bourque;  Connie Cross; Dave Dowler; Carol Friend; Russ Hutchinson; Brien Richards; Marlee Turner; Brian Walker;  Carrie Walia, Loon Echo Land Trust Senior Adviser.